AIM Logo   The American Institute
of Musicology


New Titles

PDF Catalog

Published Series

Musica Disciplina

Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae

Corpus of Early Keyboard Music (CEKM)

Renaissance Manuscript Studies

Musicological Studies and Documents

Corpus scriptorum de musica


Publications of Medieval Musical Manuscripts

Musical Theorists in Translation

Collected Works

Musicological Studies



Alessandro Grandi, Opera Omnia

Alessandro Grandi (ca. 1586–1630) is best known as the first composer to use a form of the word “cantata” to describe a set of musical compositions (for his Cantade et arie, ca. 1618) and as Monteverdi's vice-maestro di cappella at San Marco in Venice during the 1620s.

This new series of publications will be edited by an editorial team headed by Jeffrey Kurtzman, in collaboration with Dennis Collins, Robert Kendrick, Steven Saunders, and John Whenham.

Alessandro Grandi, Opera Omnia, edited by Jeffrey Kurtzman, with Dennis Collins, Robert Kendrick, Steven Saunders, and John Whenham.

CMM 112-1 Cover

Contents and sample pages (PDF)

CMM 112, Vol. 1, Il primo libro de motetti a due, tre, quattro, cinque & otto voci, con una Messa à quattro (1610).

Edited by Dennis Collins and Steven Saunders.

        1st. ed.     2011
    36 cm     lvi+137 pp.

CMM 112–1   978-1-59551-503-2   $110.00

Grandi's first published music, the Primo libro de motetti a due, tre, quattro, cinque, & otto voci, con una Messa à quattro (Venice, 1610), contains two fairly conventional compositions, a polychoral motet and a four-voice setting of the Ordinary of the Mass. The core of the collection, however, is a set of innovative few-voice motets in which Grandi introduces a variety of novel formal schemes and compositional techniques. He juxtaposes short motives in ways that suggest both dialogue techniques and the concerato interplay of voices common in the lighter secular genres. Several motets employ parlante subjects that recall the clipped diction of Monterverdi's Fourth and Fifth Books of Madrigals, and Grandi's quasi-canonic entries built over harmonic sequences evoke duet passages from the continuo madrigals that close Monteverdi's Fifth Book. In short, Grandi's Primo libro de motetti shows that he helped to forge the concertato style in the early years of the seventeenth-century.

CMM 112-01, no. 1   Hodie nobis de cælo   3
CMM 112-01, no. 2   Ad te de luce vigilantibus   6
CMM 112-01, no. 3   Quam dives es (transposed down a fifth)   8
CMM 112-01, no. 4   Exaudi Domine   11
CMM 112-01, no. 5   Audivit Dominus   13
CMM 112-01, no. 6   In semita judiciorum   15
CMM 112-01, no. 7   O quam tu pulchra es   17
CMM 112-01, no. 8   In te speravi Domine   21
CMM 112-01, no. 9   Quam dilecta tabernacula tua   24
CMM 112-01, no. 10   Sicut oculi servorum   28
CMM 112-01, no. 11   Deus Deus meus in te speravi   31
CMM 112-01, no. 12   Obaudite me   34
CMM 112-01, no. 13   Vidi spetiosam sicut columbam   40
CMM 112-01, no. 14   Congratulamini omnes in Domino   45
CMM 112-01, no. 15   Caro mea   51
CMM 112-01, no. 16   Cantabo Domino   57
CMM 112-01, no. 17   Hic est vere martyr   63
CMM 112-01, no. 18   Benedictus Dominus   68
CMM 112-01, no. 19   Missus est Angelus Gabriel   73
CMM 112-01, no. 20   Nativitas tua   83
CMM 112-01, no. 21a   Kyrie, Messa a quattro voci   94
CMM 112-01, no. 21b   Gloria, Messa a quattro voci   99
CMM 112-01, no. 21c   Credo, Messa a quattro voci   106
CMM 112-01, no. 21d   Sanctus, Messa a quattro voci   119
CMM 112-01, no. 21e   Agnus Dei, Messa a quattro voci   123
CMM 112-01, no. AA   Quam dives es (notated pitch)   129
CMM 112-01, no. AB1   Quae es ista (transposed down a fifth)   132
CMM 112-01, no. AB2   Quae es ista (notated pitch)   135


CMM112-2 Cover

Contents and Sample Pages (PDF)

CMM 112, Vol. 2, Il secondo libro de motetti a due, tre, e quattro voci con il basso continuo per sonar nell'organo (1613)

Edited by Steven Saunders and Anne Schnoebelen.

        1st. ed.     2020
    36 cm     xlviii+91 pp.

CMM 112–2   978-1-59551-543-8   $132.00

Abbreviations   ix
Acknowledgements   x
Introduction   xi
The Composer   xi
  Book Two and Its Context   xxxvi
  Performance Practice   xliii
Sources   xlvii
Editorial Methods   li
Performance Notes   lv
Critical Report (with texts and translations)   lvii

Il secondo libro de motetti a due, tre, et quattro voci (1613)
  1. O quam suave   3
  2. Venite filii   6
  3. Vocem jucunditatis   9
  4. O salutaris hostia   13
  4a. O salutaris hostia (transposed down a 5th)   16
  5. O quam gloriosum   19
  6. Lætentur cæli   23
  7. Deus in nomine tuo   26
  8. Non est inventus   30
  9. O quam dulcis   32
 10. O intemerata   34
 11. Deus misereatur nostri   37
 12. Deus misereatur nostri   42
 13. Salvum fac populum tuum   47
 14. Cantemus Domino   51
 15. Salve radix sancta   57
 16. O beata Virgo Maria   60
 17. Date nomini   63
 18. Heu mihi   69
 19. O bone Jesu   76
 20. Magnum hæreditatis   81
 21. Inter vestibulum   86


Vol. 3. Not yet published.

Vol. 4. Not yet published.

CMM 112-5 Cover

Contents and sample pages (PDF)

CMM 112, Vol. 5. Il quatro libro de motetti a due, tre, quattro, et sette voci (1616).

Edited by Dennis Collins and Robert Kendrick.

        1st. ed.     2015
    36 cm     lvii + 71 pp.

CMM 112–5   978-1-59551-513-1   $129.00

Grandi's Fourth Book of motets (1616), mainly smaller-scale pieces, contains works that can be linked to his two "academic" employers in Ferrara, the confraternity-academies of the Spirito Santo and the Morti. Like Grandi's other prints, this book received multiple reprints, and some of its contents were copied as far away as north Germany and England. The present volume also contains major new biographical findings by Rodolfo Baroncini, and represents the first modern edition of most of the pieces.

CMM 112-05, no. 1. Hæc est arbor dignissima   3
CMM 112-05, no. 2. Salvum me fac Domine   7
CMM 112-05, no. 3. O quam gloriosa facta es   10
CMM 112-05, no. 4. Bone Jesu verbum Patris   13
CMM 112-05, no. 5. Surge propera amica mea   16
CMM 112-05, no. 6. O crux ave spes unica   21
CMM 112-05, no. 7. Hic est præcursor dilectus   24
CMM 112-05, no. 8. Exulta et lætare terra   26
CMM 112-05, no. 9. O sacrum convivium   29
CMM 112-05, no. 10. Gloria Patri qui creavit nos   32
CMM 112-05, no. 11. Hymnum cantemus   34
CMM 112-05, no. 12. Hæc est virgo sapiens   39
CMM 112-05, no. 13. Deus qui nos in tantis periculis 43
CMM 112-05, no. 14. Plorabo die ac nocte   48
CMM 112-05, no. 15. Ave regina cælorum   54
CMM 112-05, no. 16. Diligam te Domine   59
CMM 112-05, no. 17. Factum est silentium   66



PrivacyContactLibrarians PermissionsTOP