AIM Logo   The American Institute
of Musicology


New Titles

PDF Catalog

Published Series

Musica Disciplina

Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae

Corpus of Early Keyboard Music (CEKM)

Renaissance Manuscript Studies

Musicological Studies and Documents

Corpus scriptorum de musica


Publications of Medieval Musical Manuscripts

Musical Theorists in Translation

Collected Works

Musicological Studies



Hieronymus Praetorius, Collected Vocal Works

Hieronymus Praetorius (1560–1629) of Hamburg was a preeminent composer in north Germany. His five-volume Opus musicum, originally published between 1599 and 1625, contains 100 Latin and German motets for five to twenty voices (for one to four choirs), six Masses in five to eight parts, and nine eight-part Magnificats. His vocal works display the beginnings of Italian influences on north-German sacred music, especially through the extensive exploitation of polychoral techniques, and exhibit an imaginative blend of old and new styles in sacred music during the early Baroque. This new complete modern edition preserves the arrangement and contents of the original prints. In addition to authoritative scores with continuo parts, each volume includes historical commentary, style criticism and analysis, text translations, performance alternatives, and critical notes.

HIERONYMUS PRAETORIUS, Collected Vocal Works, edited by Frederick K. Gable.

AIM Logo

CMM 110, Vol. 1, Opus musicum I. Not yet published.


CMM 110-2 Cover

Contents and sample pages (PDF)

CMM 110, Vol. 2, Opus musicum II: Magnificats and Five Motets.

Edited by Frederick K. Gable.

        1st. ed.     2008
    36 cm     xl + 268 pp.

CMM 110–2   978-1-59551-495-0   $110.00

This edition was made possible with the generous support of the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius, Hamburg, Germany.

Volume update CMM 110–2 (PDF)

The first volume to be released, Opus musicum II, contains nine Magnificats for eight-part double choir and five grand psalm motets for eight to twelve voices. The works belong to the Catholic and Protestant tradition of Magnificat sets in each of the Canticle tones, usually providing only alternating verses in polyphony.

CMM 110-02, no. 1   Magnificat 1. toni   3
CMM 110-02, no. 2   Magnificat 2. toni   20
CMM 110-02, no. 3   Magnificat 3. toni   41
CMM 110-02, no. 4   Magnificat 4. toni   60
CMM 110-02, no. 5   Magnificat 5 toni (1)   85
CMM 110-02, no. 6   Magnificat 5 toni (2)   109
CMM 110-02, no. 7   Joseph, lieber Joseph mein   123
CMM 110-02, no. 8   In dulcio Jubilo   128
CMM 110-02, no. 9   Magnificat 6. toni   130
CMM 110-02, no. 10   Magnificat 7 toni   149
CMM 110-02, no. 11   Magnificat 8. toni   167
CMM 110-02, no. A1-2   Domine, Dominus noster; 2.p. Quid est homo   189
CMM 110-02, no. A3   Venite, exultemus Domino   208
CMM 110-02, no. A4   Cantate Domino   221
CMM 110-02, no. A5   Levavi oculos meos   235
CMM 110-02, no. A6   Dixit Dominus Domino meo   249


CMM 110-3 Cover

Contents and sample pages (PDF)

CMM 110, Vol. 3, Opus musicum III, Six Masses.

Edited by Frederick K. Gable.

        1st. ed.     2014
    36 cm     li + 436 pp.

CMM 110–3   978-1-59551-510-0   $219.00

The Liber misssarum (Opus musicum III, 1618), contains six impressive settings of the Ordinary of the Mass for five, six, and eight voices. The double-choir masses are based on his own motets for Christmas, Easter, and St. Michael's Day; a fourth mass on his “Benedicam Dominum” a 6; and two on motets by Stephano Felis and Jacob Meiland—all are included in the edition. Praetorius blends the older motet-style with the new concerto-style polychorality by his word declamation, short motives, repetition of sections, sequencing of ideas, and varieties of choir exchange.

All the masses exhibit imaginative reworking of the motet models and contain much newly composed music rather than simply adapting the mass text to the models. The six settings represent the last stage of complete polyphonic masses by German seventeenth-century composers (another set of five was published by Christoph Demantius in 1619).


CMM 110-03, No. 1   Missa I. super Paratum cor meum ŕ 5   3
CMM 110-03, No. 2   Missa II. super Benedicam Dominum ŕ 6   54
CMM 110-03, No. 3   Missa III. super Non auferetur sceptrum ŕ 6   112
CMM 110-03, No. 4   Missa IV. super Angelus ad pastores ŕ 8   167
CMM 110-03, No. 5   Missa V. super Tulerunt Dominum meum ŕ 8   227
CMM 110-03, No. 6   Missa VI. super Factum est silentium ŕ 8   287
CMM 110-03, No. A1   Paratum cor meum   349   Felis
CMM 110-03, No. A2   Benedicam Dominum   356
CMM 110-03, No. A3   Non auferetur sceptrum   368   Meiland
CMM 110-03, No. A4   Angelus ad pastores   380
CMM 110-03, No. A5   Tulerunt Dominum meum   397
CMM 110-03, No. A6   Factum est silentium   418



PrivacyContactLibrarians PermissionsTOP